ACADEMIC CALENDAR 2019-2020

 See the link to the academic calendar in the registrar's web site.

MAY-TERM 2019

May 6 – May 17

Exams – May 20

Registration: Apr. 30 -  May 3;

Classes Begin: May 6

SUMMER DAY & EVENING CLASSES - 2019

1st Term – 5/21 – 6/21; Classes Begin 5/21, Registration: 5/16-17

     Exams: M/W Exams – 6/27; Day Exams – 6/24; T/R Exams- 6/25

2nd Term – 6/26-7/29; Classes Begin 6/26; Registration: 6/21-6/24

      Exams: M/W Exams – 7/30; Day Exams – 7/30; T/R Exams- 7/31

ADVANCE REGISTRATIONS

June  Freshman Pre-Registration

June 14

June  Transfer Pre-Registration

June 7

 

UNIVERSITY CALENDAR                                            TRADITIONAL CAMPUS                                                                                     2019-2020
 
FALL SEMESTER 2019
Aug. 14 – Wed.             Service of Dedication for the School Year at 7:00 p.m. Kickoff Gathering
Aug. 15 - Thursday             Faculty Workshop
Aug. 16 – Friday  Welcome Week / New Student Orientation
Aug. 16 - Friday   Move-in for new students at 8:30 a.m.
Aug. 16 - Friday   Move-in for returning students at 1:00 p.m. 
Aug. 16 - Friday   Advising & Registration for Fall 2019
Aug. 19 - Monday               Traditional day and evening classes begin
Aug. 20 – Tuesday              First Chapel Service
Aug 23 – Friday   Last day to add a course, Internship, Independent Study, or change course status to pass/fail, audit
Aug. 23 - Friday   Last day to drop a course without a grade (Mon., Aug. 26 - Start of Grades Given for dropped courses)
Aug. 30 - Friday   Graduation application deadline for Spring 2020 degree completion (Traditional students)
Sept. 2 - Monday Labor Day Holiday – no classes
Sept. 27–28 Fri./Sat.           Family Weekend
Oct. 12 - Saturday               Mid-semester holiday begins at 1:00 p.m.
Oct. 16 - Wednesday          Mid-semester holiday ends at 8:00 a.m.
Oct. 17 - Thursday              Mid-semester grades to be posted by 8:30 a.m.  
Oct. 28/Nov.1 M-F.             Advising and Registration for Spring 2020
Nov. 8 - Friday              Last day to drop a course with a grade of W
Nov. 9 - Saturday                Homecoming
Nov. 27 – Wed.    Thanksgiving Holiday begins at 8:00 a.m.
Dec. 2 - Monday  Thanksgiving Holiday ends at 8:00 a.m.
Dec. 2 - Monday  Last regular Day-Class meeting
Dec. 3 - Tuesday  Study Day (No Day-Class Exams – Note: evening course exams begin Tues. Dec. 3)
Dec. 3-9 Tue – Mon            Final Evening Examination – for Evening Courses
Dec. 4 - Wednesday            Day-Class exams begin – see Exam Schedule for Periods and Times
Dec. 6 & 7  Fri. / Sat. Singing Christmas Tree (Begins at 7:30 p.m. each evening)
Dec 10 – Tuesday               All grades to be posted by 8:30 a.m.  
Dec. 12 - Thursday              Residence Halls close at 5:00 p.m. (all residents with the exception of commencement participants)
Dec. 14 - Saturday              Commencement for Aug. & Dec. graduates, Jackson at 9:30 a.m.
Dec. 14 - Saturday              Residence Halls close at 5:00 p.m. (for commencement participants)
 
SPRING SEMESTER 2020
Jan. 10 – Friday   Residence Halls open for ALL students at 8:30 a.m.
Jan. 10 - Friday    New Student Orientation at 9:00 a.m. 
Jan. 10 - Friday    Advising & Registration for spring 2020
Jan. 13 - Monday                Traditional day and evening classes begin
Jan. 17 - Friday             Last day to add a course, Internship, Independent Study, or change course status to pass/fail, audit
Jan. 17 - Friday             Last day to drop a course without a grade
Jan. 20 - Monday                Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday – no day or evening classes
Jan. 31 - Friday            Graduation application deadline for summer 2020 and fall 2020 degree completion (Traditional students)
Mar. 5 - Thursday               Mid-semester grades to be posted by 8:30 a.m.
Mar. 7 - Saturday                Spring Recess begins at 1 p.m.
Mar. 16 - Monday               Spring Recess ends at 8 a.m.
Mar. 24 – Tuesday              Honors Convocation 10:00 – 11:30 a.m. – All other classes from 9:25-12:05 are cancelled.           
Mar. 23-27  M– Fri.             Advising and Registration for May term 2020, Summer I&II 2020, and Fall 2020
Apr. 1 - Wednesday            Last day to drop a course with a grade of W
 
Apr.10-13- F-Mon.              Easter Break begins at 8 a.m. Friday April 10 and ends at 8 a.m. Tuesday, April 14
Apr. 27 - Monday                Last regular Day-class meeting
Apr. 28 - Tuesday                Study Day (No Day-Class Exams – Tuesday evening-course exams only)
Apr. 28 – May 4.Tue. – Mon.           Final Evening Course Exams – Begin at 6 p.m. Tuesday Evening Apr. 28 – Monday Evening, May 4
Apr. 29 – May 4 Wed –Mon             Day-Class exams begin and go through Monday, May 4
May 5 – Tuesday. 8:30 a.m.             All grades to be posted by 8:30 a.m.
Apr. 28 – May 1 – Tue.-Fri                Registration for May term session, Summer I and Summer II sessions
May 7, Thursday Residence Halls close at 5:00 p.m. (all residents with the exception of commencement participants)
May 8, Friday      Senior Reception in Billy Kim Center in Jackson at 7:00 p.m.
May 9 – Saturday 9:30 a.m.             Commencement for May and Aug. graduates at 9:30 a.m. (Traditional)
May 9 - Saturday                Residence Halls close at 5:00 p.m. (commencement participants)
 
SUMMER SEMESTER 2020
May 11 - Monday               May term classes begin
May 11 – Monday              Last day to add or drop a May-term course
May 18-22 – M-F                Registration for Summer I and Summer II sessions
May 21 – Thursday            May term classes end
May 22 – Friday  May term exams
May 25 - Monday               Memorial Day Holiday
May 26 – Tuesday              Summer I session classes begin
May 30 /June 6–Sat   Summer I session – Mon/Wed night class Saturday meetings (8:30 a.m. – 12 Noon.)
June 5, Friday                Transfer Orientation
June 20 – Saturday             Summer I session – Tue/Thur night class Saturday meeting (8:30 a.m. – 12 Noon)
June 11-12, Th-Fri               Freshmen Orientation
Jun. 26 – Friday   Summer I session classes end – Day and M/W & T/R night classes
Jun. 29-30 – M-Tue   Registration for Summer II session
Jun. 29-30 – M-Tue            Summer I session exams (6/29-Day Course Exams & M/W evening exams; 6/30 – T/Th evening exams)
Jul 1 – Wednesday              Summer II session classes begin
Jul. 3 - Friday                 Independence Day Holiday observed- no classes
Jul. 11 - Saturday Summer II session – Mon/Wed night class Saturday meeting (8:30 a.m. until Noon)
Jul. 25 - Saturday Summer II session – Tue/Thur night class Saturday meeting (8:30 a.m. until Noon)
Aug. 4 – Tuesday Summer II session classes end – Day Classes, M/W & T/R night classes
Aug. 5-6 – W -Th Summer II session exams (8/5- Day Course Exams & Wed evening exams; 8/6-Thur evening exams)
Aug. 15 - Saturday              Summer term ends